Inauguration Ceremony Held January 1 in Canton

January 10, 2021

VAN ZANDT—Friday as many celebrated the new year, several public servants gathered at the Van Zandt County courthouse in canton to be sworn into office in an inaugural ceremony.
The inauguration of the class of 2021 took place on January 1 with new elects and incumbents alike taking the oath of office and begin their term.
The latest election resulted in several incumbents’ bid for office thwarted by challengers. Among the changes were in the office of Van Zandt County Sheriff, with Steve Hendrix claiming victory over Dale Corbett, and Chad LaPrade upsetting Brandon brown for Van Zandt County Precinct 1 Commissioner.
Van Zandt County Precinct 1 Constable Mickey Henson, and Van Zandt County Precinct 4 Constable Pat Jordan survived their bids for re-election, however Van Zandt Precinct 2 Constable Jesse Ison’s bid fell short with Heath Burton claiming the win. Precinct 3 Constable Robert Tisdale wins re-election as well. Tisdale has held the constable’s position since 2009. Other elected officials sworn into office on Friday were Van Zandt County Tax Assessor-Collector Misty Stanberry.
As everybody cheerfully gave 2020 the boot and offered a hearty welcome to 2021—as well as a hope to return to normalcy—Friday’s event began the new year with celebration and much needed reprieve from the past 12 months. The ceremony offered optimism moving forward and enthusiastically applauded new terms of office for the new class of the elected officials of Van Zandt County.
The photos used in this article were courtesy photos.